Gainesville Lawyer Fletcher is an AV® Peer Review Rated Criminal Defense attorney who represents
clients in Federal and State criminal matters across the State of Florida.
Gloria W. Fletcher, P.A.
4510 NW 6th Place 3rd Floor
Gainesville, Florida 32607
 
Call 352.374.4007  
 
  Hit and Run
Hit and run laws are different for every state, so it is important to understand your legal obligations as it pertains to Florida law. If you, or someone you love, has been involved in a hit and run accident, then you need someone with experience to navigate you through the proper proceedings. If you have been injured in a hit and run accident, it may be best to consult with an experienced attorney who can help you get the financial compensation you deserve.

Been Injured in a Hit & Run Accident?
It may be difficult to receive the money you deserve after you have been injured in a hit and run accident. If the other party has not been identified or left the scene of the crime, you may not be able to recover damages. Additionally, a large number of hit-and-run drivers may flee the scene because they are uninsured, intoxicated, or in fear of the police. With the help of a dedicated legal representative, you may be able to achieve the results you deserve.

Your Responsibilities after an Accident
Hit and run law is defined as the failure to stop after a vehicle accident to exchange pertinent information with other involved parties. In the unfortunate case of injury, hit and run law requires a person to also address the victims’ needs, which could mean calling emergency response or waiting until help arrives. In cases where there are no witnesses or the victim is not present, hit and run law requires that the person responsible for an accident leave a note with all the necessary information. Under the law, this obligation does not obstruct on a person’s right to refrain from admission of guilt because this exchange of information is considered a report and not a guilty plea. In the aftermath of an accident, it is important to exchange information no matter how minor the incident may appear.

Penalties for a Hit and Run Conviction
The punishment for a hit and run violation can range depending on the severity of the accident. In some cases, if you fail to stop to exchange information after an accident involving only property damage, you could face second degree misdemeanor charges punishable by up to 60 days in jail and fines up to $500. Moreover, if you, the driver, fails to stay at the scene of a fatal accident or one with injuries, he or she may be charged with a first degree felony. The maximum sentence for a first degree felony is a $10,000 fine and up to 30 years in prison.
HOME   |   PHILOSOPHY  |  PRACTICE   |   ATTORNEYS   |   MEDIA   |   CONTACT US
Call 352.374.4007 today for a confidential consultation if you or a loved one are in need of a Gainesville attorney.

The hiring of a Gainesville  lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements.
Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a Gainesville attorney/client relationship.

Copyright © 2010 Gloria W Fletcher, P.A. All rights reserved.